Repost from Complicated Order: Web 2.0 and Web 3.0

This is a repost of Dayna’s Web 3.0 post from her blog, Complicated Order.  It was a good post, with plenty of information, but some of the links didn’t work, so this was the simplest way for me to fix them.  And to bring the post to your attention. —jgh

Web 3.0? Semantic Web? Umm…

Like many of you, Kevin Kelly’s Web conference on TEDtalks, introduce me to and gave me insight into these emerging technologies. However, like many of you, I was still left with many questions.

Ever the skeptic, I did my own snooping and found some pretty cool info. I’ll start by throwing out this simple definition from Webster’s:

  • Semantics (n): The study of meanings.

Awesome! But, what’s next?

I started my search by looking at Web 3.0 and the Semantic Web (SW) as two separate entities. What I got in return was an overload of definitions and predictions for the future. Then I figured it out. I changed how I thought about the issue.

Web 3.0 is the platform, or portal, from which we will find and receive information. The successor to Web 2.0—which we’re in now—which is all about sharing content and Web communities, Web 3.0 will go a step further. More than social networking, more than an amalgamation of Web applications strung together just for user satisfaction, Web 3.0 will, in essence, know what you want, how and when you want it, and deliver it for you without you even asking for it.

This left me asking, how, of course, will it do all of this. And then someone turned on my proverbial light bulb. The Semantic Web is what will drive Web 3.0. It’s all about personalization it seems. And then I got excited. Well…sorta.

The prospect of having my own personal assistant (if you’ve been paying attention to my Facebook updates) makes me smile uncontrollably. I love the thought. Having a virtual “someone” to compartmentalize my ADHD-driven random thoughts, ideas, to-do’s, and what not would be great. But Kelly said, among other things, that to do this we need to be transparent. This means ultimate disclosure. Am I ready for that? Are we, as a society ready for that? I’m not too sure.

We’ve had other discussions and even blog posts in this class relating to privacy on our respective social media sites. I won’t even get into what being virtually transparent would mean for privacy. It would just be….gone. No more. Zilch.

So just as excited as I was to learn about this upcoming technology, I’ve already begun to shy away from it. It only took two paragraphs. This again goes back to my ultimate dilemma with technology:  Maintaining my own privacy. I want it. I deserve it! And, as much as I’d like to say that I’ll probably be the last ones to jump on the Semantic Web/Web 3.0 bandwagon, I don’t think I, or any of us, will have a choice.

Regardless of how I feel about the issue, and what I feel isn’t complete fear or skepticism I’ve provided links for you to explore the issue for yourselves.

These slideshows shows how Web 3.0 and the Semantic Web work hand-in-hand:

And, if you are still confused about all this techno mumbo jumbo, try these quick reads:

About John Heckathorn

These are my teaching sites for Hawaii Pacific University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

